Barack Obama, Elijah Cummings, Walter Mosley + More Take Home Awards  DURING THE 52ND NAACP IMAGE AWARDS NON-TELEVISED VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE

Barack Obama, Elijah Cummings, Walter Mosley + More Take Home Awards DURING THE 52ND NAACP IMAGE AWARDS NON-TELEVISED VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE

Last night, the NAACP kicked-off night one of the 52nd NAACP Image Awards. Announcing the first round of winners in the non-televised award categories, which included literary, documentary (film and television), and activist and youth activist of the year awards. The awards were announced as part of the NAACP Image Awards’ Virtual Experience presented by Wells Fargo and hosted Nischelle Turner at

The night’s winners included President Barack Obama for Outstanding Literary Work – Nonfiction category, Walter Mosely for Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction, “John Lewis: Good Trouble” for Outstanding Documentary (Film), and as previously announced Reverend Dr. Wendell Anthony for Activist Of The Year and Madison Potts for Youth Activist Of The Year.

The award show additionally featured appearances from presenters including entrepreneur and Shark Tank investor Daymond John, star of Netflix’s Jingle Jangle: A Christmas Journey, Madelen Mills and Emmy Award Winning Actor Terrence Terrell. Performers included Tonya Boyd Cannon and Zul-Qarnain who put together a creative mash-up of both a traditional and a reimagined interpretation of the Negro National Anthem.

The 52nd NAACP Image Awards Virtual Experience from March 22-26, will invite fans to join the Image Awards in a celebration of “Black Excellence”–including the nightly non-televised awards program, virtual red carpet, curated conversation series, a theatre featuring past performances and speeches and an after party celebration following the LIVE show.

Be sure to tune into the The 52nd NAACP Awards Virtual Experience this week  for all things ‘Black Excellence”.

The full list of winners from last tonight can be found below:

Award Winners

Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction

“The Awkward Black Man” – Walter Mosley

Outstanding Literary Work – Nonfiction        

“A Promised Land” – Barack Obama

Outstanding Literary Work – Debut Author

“We’re Better Than This” – Elijah Cummings

Outstanding Literary Work – Biography/Autobiography   

“The Dead Are Arising” – Les Payne, Tamara Payne

Outstanding Literary Work – Instructional    

“Vegetable Kingdom” – Bryant Terry

Outstanding Literary Work – Poetry

“The Age of Phillis” – Honorée Jeffers

Outstanding Literary Work – Children            

“She Was the First!: The Trailblazing Life of Shirley Chisholm” – Katheryn Russell-Brown, Eric Velasquez

Outstanding Literary Work – Youth/Teens   

“Before the Ever After” – Jacqueline Woodson

Outstanding Directing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture) 

Keith McQuirter – “By Whatever Means Necessary: The Times of Godfather of Harlem”

Outstanding Writing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture)     

Melissa Haizlip – “Mr. SOUL!”

Outstanding Documentary (Film)

“John Lewis: Good Trouble”

Outstanding Documentary (Television – Series or Special)

“The Last Dance”

Special Award – Youth Activist of the Year

Madison Potts

Special Award – Activist of the Year

Reverend Dr. Wendell Anthony

Attendees can RSVP/pre-register for the 52nd NAACP Image Awards Virtual Experience at

The 52nd NAACP Image Awards is presented by Wells Fargo, and sponsored by AT&T, FedEx, Nike, Bank of America, American Airlines, Airbnb, Ford, and Alaska Airlines.

The NAACP Image Awards honors the accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature, and film and also recognizes individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: